Malmesbury Town Council

Minutes of the **Annual Council Meeting**Held at Malmesbury Town Hall on **Tuesday 7**th **May 2019** at 7.00pm.

PRESENT: Her Worship the Mayor, Councillor F Vandelli

Deputy Mayor Councillor J M Exton

Councillors: R. Budgen, C. Burke, C C Doody, P J Exton, L G Grant, A J Gundry, C Hardwick, W R Jones, P Newman, K Power, C M Ritchie, P

Smith, and H Wallace.

ALSO PRESENT: There was one member of the public present.

APOLOGIES: There were no apologies.

DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST: None.

PUBLIC QUESTION TIME: None

1. To receive apologies for absence

There were no apologies for absence

2. To elect a councillor to serve as Town Mayor for the Civic year 2019/20 It was proposed by Councillor Grant, seconded by Councillor Doody, and RESOLVED that Councillor J Exton be elected to the office of Town Mayor for the Civic Year 2019/2020. There were no other nominations received.

Cllr Vandelli thanked the Council whilst in office as the Mayor.

Mayor Exton on behalf of the Council thanked Cllr Vandelli for her service as Mayor and Lynda Cryer for their support over the previous year.

3. To elect a councillor to serve as Deputy Town Mayor for the Civic year 2019/20

It was proposed by Councillor Jones, seconded by Councillor Grant, and **RESOLVED** that Councillor C Ritchie be elected to the office of Deputy Town Mayor for the Civic Year 2019/2020. There were no other nominations received.

4. To appoint councillors to serve on the committees of the Town Council for the Civic Year 2019/20.

The Council considered Councillors preferences for Committees, and the following appointments were **RESOLVED**;

Planning & Environment Committee: Cllrs Budgen, J Exton, P Exton, Gundry, Hardwick, Jones, Ritchie.

Town Hall & Facilities Committee: Cllrs Burke, Doody, J Exton, Grant, Jones, Newman, Vandelli, Wallace.

Community & Town Promotion: Cllrs Burke, Doody, P Exton, Grant, Hardwick, Power, Vandelli, and Wallace.

Burial Committee: Cllrs P Exton, Jones, Newman, Ritchie, Vandelli.

5. To adjourn the meeting whilst committees meet for the selection of Chairs and Vice Chairs.

Her Worship the Mayor adjourned Council in order for meetings of the Planning & Environment, Town Hall & Facilities, Community & Town Promotion and Burial Committees, to take place. Following the election of Chairs and Vice Chairs to those committees Council was reconvened.

RESOLVED that the following Councillors are appointed as the following Chairs and Vice Chairs of the Committees;

Planning & Environment Committee: Chair: Cllr Budgen, Vice- Chair: Cllr P Exton.

Town Hall & Facilities Committee: Chair: Cllr Newman, Vice- Chair: Cllr Wallace.

Community & Town Promotion: Chair: Cllr Vandelli, Vice- Chair: Cllr Power.

Burial: Chair Ritchie. Vice- chair Vandelli

6. To appoint councillors to serve on the Policy and Resources Committee.

Consideration was given to the appointment of Councillors to the Policy & Resources Committee. The Mayor reminded the councillors that four of the seats on that Committee were allocated to the Chairs of the Service Committees of the Council. and held by those councillors whilst in those respective roles. It was also noted that the Council had previously agreed to appoint the Mayor to one of the seats.

The councillors holding those seats by virtue of their being elected Mayor, or Chairs of committees, were identified as being **Councillors J Exton, Budgen, Newman, Ritchie and Vandelli.**

Cllr P Exton withdrew his preference to serve on the Committee.

The three remaining Councillors with an expressed preference to serve on the Committee were Cllr Grant, Jones, and Power. **RESOLVED that Cllr Grant, Jones, and Power be appointed to the Policy and Resources Committee.**

RESOLVED that CIIr Jones be appointed as Chair, and CIIr Grant be appointed as Vice Chair, of the Policy and Resources Committee,

7. To appoint councillors to represent the Town Council on outside organisations

RESOLVED The following Council representatives were appointed;

Wiltshire Association of Local Councils – Cllr J Exton, Cllr W Jones Market Town Forum – Cllr F Vandelli, supported by the Town Clerk and Town Team Representative.

Malmesbury Conservation Group – referred to the Policy and Resources Committee pending the outcome of the Groups review of their Terms of Reference. **Malmesbury and District Community Transport** – Cllr Wallace, supported by Cllr Wayne Jones, Town Clerk. Abstention: Cllr Grant. Cllr Newman.

Malmesbury Town Team – Cllr Campbell Ritchie

Malmesbury and District Twinning Association – Cllr J Exton

Operational Flood Group - Cllr C Hardwick

Community Area Transport Group – Cllr R Budgen

Local Youth Network Management Group - Cllr F Vandelli

Movies in Malmesbury – Cllr Wallace. Abstentions: Cllr Jones, Newman.

Malmesbury Against Plastics - Cllr Gavin Grant

Athelstan Statue Project Group - Cllr C Ritchie

Date of next Full Council Meeting: 18.6.19